Letting Go

Life works in funny ways.

 

Some days I welcome the sunlight

that creeps through my window,

And on the others I abandon the rays,

In all ways I’ve learned to say, “no.”

 

I’ve grown up loving permanence

And running away from traces of change.

I inked a tattoo where I could see it,

So I can feel familiarity running through my vein.

 

I don’t intend on buying a dog,

I’m not too sure I could deal with its demise.

And yet, I think if we can all feel too much,

Too often, too soon – it would suffice.

 

But life works in wonderful ways too.

 

Today my 4 year old niece

Slept beside me, and breathed slow.

And with the reassurance of her presence,

I learned to let my worries go.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

Leave a Reply

